True Feelings

Went across the Mekong river. Here I am talking to a group of little kids. Photo credit to Dani!

Went across the Mekong river. Here I am talking to a group of little kids. Photo credit to Dani!

NEW FEATURE: Please enjoy the following post that includes proof of my editing!  As you read along you will notice words like this.   These words express things I would LIKE to write, but don’t for whatever reason! But in this case did!

Quite often, if I am not pointing out how hot it is here, I tend to lean upon expressing new things I have learned. I believe it is true that you learn something new everyday! The best though is when you learn something new over time! You experience the “aha” moment, the light bulb goes off, the Eureka effect no “you-reek-ah” lol, the “I can’t believe some IDIOT one ate my secret stash of nacho chips I left on the counter” moment!! I could go on! But I won’t, I think my train of thought was shifting with that last one anyways. What I am getting at is, we all know those experiences that bring new light to our lives. Some maybe more than others, depending on how smart you are! If you ever felt you maybe didn’t know enough about, hmmm, let’s say YOURSELF, then you should move to Asia! Prime example: recently while with a group of friends here, I was being asked what I used to do for work in Canada. After I listed a few things I had done I added that for a while I was also a lion tamer! Instead of getting the rolling thunder of laughter light chuckle I was aiming for, I was suddenly surrounded by wide eyes of amazement! After “explaining” my joke to some very disappointed listeners, (which I should add always enhances the joke doesn’t it??) I basically realized my dreams of being the latest comedian in Asia were put to rest. Mind you, even in western society most of my attempts to be funny result in eye rolls and or sudden silent dispersing of conversation, jerks, so maybe it’s for the best! My point is, and it’s a biggie….
“People here might not think I am very funny, but they make really gross noises!!”

I just like this picture....the end.

I just like this picture….the end.

The other night I was laying in bed enjoying the thunder and lightening storm. It was amazing! I was in the midst of thinking how peaceful it was when I suddenly heard one of my favorite neighbors come into the sound amplifying alley of ours and start puking! See what I mean, ” gross noises”!
Yesterday Abby and I went to the book store. I love the book store because they usually crank the A/C and it is full of stationary! Who doesn’t love to look at stationary, right!? Pens, pencils, highlighters, sharpeners with long winded English inspirational quotes on them, you know what I mean! But, I must say, when you are in the process of choosing your next highlighter for studying, which is a big deal, along with the soundtrack of Mr. stock boy in the corner clipping his toe nails, it sorta kills the mood! GROSS NOISES right!!?? The other night I was watching t.v. and Abby let out one of those super gross hiccup-burp sounds….ew NIGHT RUINER! “GROSS NOISES!”

This is proof i wasn't kidding when I said leaving our apartment meant entering into their make shift wedding kitchen!!

This is proof i wasn’t kidding when I said leaving our apartment meant entering into their make shift wedding kitchen!!

I will clarify my blanket statement that ” they make really gross noises!” On occasion it’s not “gross” necessarily. Annoying maybe??? This past weekend was torture a big fat “joy”, because we had a wedding! Yes, we had a wedding! Sure it may have been arranged by the neighbors in the building next door but whether we liked it or not, we were going to be a part of it! So when the massive wedding tent gets set up on the street directly in front of you and you have to drive your moto aiming for dodging wedding guests, or you exit the ONLY way out of your apartment to the alley turned banquet kitchen…..you better like it! And you better like the sound of crazy singing/chanting and cymbals at a 5am ceremony or wall shaking drunk karaoke late at night, because this block party is happening!! And she’s going to last for a day and a half!!
All and all I am crying still alive! I might have to put up with gross and/or annoying sounds that wildly assault my inner soul ear drums, but at least everyone no one thinks my jokes are funny!! ….*dramatic sigh* The end.

Ok, so now the photo section of the blog.  WHAT!!??? You already looked through it without reading my post first!  There is a real mix of different occasions in this gallery.  Enjoy the always ridiculous  lovely commentary!!

ALSO: Here is a link to a short video shot of the wedding!!!

http://instagram.com/p/hEBCX9MQEd/       (hope it works)

I have been teased about this photo on the left, my entire life and now I am sharing it with you!  My family feels there is a strong resemblance between my stare and Little Miss Blue Dress on the right!  I would like to add that I am not the only ding dong wearing a sailor dress! Also Marcie is bald, Daniel has a bowl cut and Amber looks silly!

I have been teased about this photo on the left, my entire life and now I am sharing it with you! My family feels there is a strong resemblance between my stare and Little Miss Grumpy Blue Dress on the right who was circling the group. I would like to add that I am not the only ding dong wearing a sailor dress! Also Marcie is bald, Daniel has a bowl cut and Amber looks silly!

Tagged , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “True Feelings

  1. Julie says:

    LOVED your “comments”! A view inside your mind. My guess for “what’s inside” would be massive amounts of filling for bean bag chairs. I don;t have nearly the imagination you have.

  2. david sonnenberg says:

    Sarah thanks for the latest installment. what a wonderfully interesting experience you guys are having but it musnt be that big of deal compared to lion taming. keep up the good work \ luv dave tam and fam

    Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2013 17:09:53 +0000 To: sonnenbergdavid@hotmail.com

  3. Bruce says:

    Sarah! That man in the picture with numbers on a banner behind him has a killer hair-do. That is all.

  4. Michele Thoeny says:

    Thank you for the pick me up! Hard to believe your humor is not appreciated by all! It was LOL for me throughout!! Michele from Libby, MT

  5. Dad says:

    I must say life is not dull, just think of the experinces! that you an Abigail will be able to share with those that are resurrected ! Dad

  6. Amber says:

    So my faves are of course the lion taming joke gone bad (actually a joke gone bad is often way more funny then any actual joke), the adorable grumpy body guard (seriously reminds me of you!) and the sleeping cutie pie on the bike. As for the suggestion that I looked anything more then glamorous in our amazing family photo I resemble that!!!! haha Guess for whats in the bag? hmmmm a huge bag of winter coats!!!

  7. Cori says:

    I loved your crossed out …inner feelings….so much something I would do…Mom

  8. Dustin says:

    I am so happy that now that you are all growed up you can smile–and wear a sailor outfit!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Real dolphin skin. I will no longer be able to hold my Bible without a little bit of LOL.

Leave a Reply

