First Impressions

Thats just a shot of us driving through the streets of Pattaya Thailand.

Driving through the streets of Pattaya Thailand.

If there is one thing I have learned in life……that would be really sad! I am old enough to have learned more than one thing! Hmm let me rephrase my opening line….*clearing throat sound*

Through my life I have learned many things, lessons even! For example, figuring out the opening line for a blog post can be fun and also at times annoying. Another page in my book of things learned, would be that most people really enjoy a well placed joke! I definitely appreciate those who know when a good joke is in order! It’s a talent! I on the other hand like to “think” I have this talent, but unfortunately usually just end up being the joke! Like how about the other day when I was putting my hair up for an evening of laziness with Abby. In addition to my stupid outfit I chose that could only be fit for a clown, I thought it would be funny to style my hair with one goal and one goal only…..to make Abby laugh! It was my joke hair.
It was a certain success and was funny at the time, but not so funny later on. Long after I forgot I was rocking ” joke hair”, I heard a knock at the door. I jumped up in fear as Abby opened the door revealing like 5 people, most of whom we were meeting for the first time. They were only passing by and wanted to say a quick hi, so soon the door closed. I couldn’t help but think, the first impression I gave was top notch! I mean, how could it not be when I had been sporting an idiot outfit and amazing joke hair, all while holding a giant bowl of popcorn. Yup, you read that right!  When I jumped up in fear, my gut reaction was to hide myself ….behind a GIANT fluorescent green bowl of popcorn! In attempt to soften my appearance, my gut also told me to do polite little hello waves to our new friends, that I am rather confident appeared far more gremlin-like than tender or cute. So you can now understand why I feel my jokes go misplaced, along with my self confidence! Haha Though I should mention, there was a lesson learned! Next time, don’t hairspray the joke hair!!
As I mentioned in my previous post, Abby and I went to Thailand for the english district convention and stayed for a couple weeks. It was such a great trip! Thailand was basically exactly how my friends here in Cambodia described it would be like. What I wasn’t prepared for, was that being in Thailand would give me an entirely new impression of Cambodia. Let me explain. Almost the whole time I was there, I couldn’t help but think how modern and luxurious it was! I couldn’t believe how clean the streets were or how cold the air conditioning was! I didn’t have to hold back breathing through my nose in order to dodge certain “aromas!” People would ask me if the traffic scared me, and though they drove faster there, all I could think was how much I appreciated all the law abiding drivers there! It was an

Our reactions to being back to the CRAZY of Camp Blodia!

Our reactions to being back to the CRAZY of Camp Blodia!

absolute culture shock! Which brings me back to my statement regarding Cambodia! This place is so CRAZY!! And now, I know  just how crazy! Lol
For all my Thailand readers I should clarify that no, not all of Thailand is clean, or smells great or that it doesn’t get hot. What I mean is, I just wasn’t prepared for the contrast between two places only an hour flight apart. But now that I have been back in Phnom Penh for a few days, the words of a talented singer come to mind, “…it’s all coming back to me nowwwwwwww!” ( thanks Celine) la la la!

As we pulled out onto the road from the airport in Phnom Penh we were greeted by these dudes!

As we pulled out onto the road from the airport in Phnom Penh we were greeted by these dudes!

So now please enjoy the very large gallery I prepared of our adventures in Thailand!  You are prob wondering where all the stories are? Well there is a make shift sort of a mini story along with the photos so feel free to endulge yourself by reading all the comments as well as adding your thoughts too!!!! Besides, I know most of you are only here for the photos anyways…..jerks! Jokes I would also like to add a shout out to all my newest readers!  I am happy to know of your existence and that my efforts in ridiculous story telling aren’t going unread!  And for all my long time readers, hang in there folks…..it can’t get much worse!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Cori says:

    So glad you had a great time in the “modern” country of Thailand..Now you’ll have a fun place to vacation!!

  2. Del says:

    Hi guys, Glad to hear you’re enjoying your ministry and experiencing so much, definitely not boring. And who else is along for the ride but lamb chops – well seasoned traveller not lamb roast! Love yous. x Del

  3. Amanda Matti (Porcaro) says:

    I like reading your comments to your pictures almost as much as I love your pictures. Miss you both!

  4. Amber says:

    HAHA I love your story of your amazing first impression!!! Makes me think of the scene in Pride and Prejudice when the mom and girls are all lounging around and then jump up like crazy to adjust to look all accomplished and ladylike!!!!! Guess us “K” girls always have it backwards!!!!

  5. Jen says:

    Wow it looks so nice there. A place with cheap food is my kind of place. And a Starbucks to boot. You guys look amazing. Look forward to your blogs and pics.

Leave a Reply

